My Dislocated Kneecap

c34d8957f3fdd00b269c57c7dae3e874

Nadja Auermann by Helmut Newton for American Vogue February 1995

Being injured sucks, especially when it means being unable to move for a long period of time. I’m born with genetically loose kneecaps, similar to that of my mom’s, and these kneecaps are prone to sliding away from each other which causes kneecap dislocations. This has happened to my mom three times already, but this is my first time ever. Currently, my kneecaps aren’t dislocated anymore, thanks to the paramedics, but the x-ray showed that I have a chip fracture somewhere in my knee area, although they said it’s nothing too serious thankfully.

Of all things that could’ve gotten me injured (yoga), none of these were the cause of my kneecap dislocation. It happened in a Christmas party last night when we were playing games and my right knee just suddenly slid out of place. We played limbo my kneecap slid out unexpectedly as I bent (not that far) backwards; to think I could bend even further down doing urdhva dhanurasana in my yoga practice. I was just lucky that there were a lot of people there and they were all so helpful. This was probably the most awkward Christmas party ever because of my freak accident. 

My knee looked so strange and gross with a bone jutting out to the right side. Luckily, two paramedics were walking past the building we were in so I got medical attention very quickly. We called an ambulance and I was rushed to the hospital. They said it really was nothing to worry about and all I have to do is rest. 

I’m actually pretty lucky because it could’ve been a lot worse. At least I was with a large group of people when it happened, so I didn’t have to deal with this alone; and it’s good it happened in public, I can’t imagine this happening if I were alone in my apartment. Can you imagine this happening to you so suddenly as you are doing your everyday activities in your home? My knees were ready to pop anytime since this is genetic, unexpected, and I can’t really do anything about it. I didn’t know I even inherited the same kind of loose kneecaps until today. 

Currently I’m doing a lot better. I still can’t walk very well and I’m having a hard time bending my knee. Most likely I will be in recovery for a month so that means no physical activities. That means I can’t do my whole ashtanga practice either, or I could do it but I should just leave out the poses that require my legs to go to padmasana position. If ever I need to exercise, I could always do pilates anyway since it’s for injured people. 

As of now, I’m just in my apartment resting. I’m hoping for a speedy recovery, especially now during the Christmas season. At least I have good friends who are helping me out while I’m injured. 

Photo courtesy of Pinterest

Leave a Reply

