Sana’a, Yemen

201195cf-5fed-480e-94f9-af561bf27003-2060x1236.jpeg

Yemen has caught my attention lately. I don’t really know why, the first thing I think about when I think of Yemen is that Friends episode when Chandler boards a flight going to Yemen to escape Janis. There isn’t really much being said about Yemen in travel magazines, but Condé Nast Traveler did write about Socotra Island and Lonely Planet wrote about Sana’a as well. Although I know that Yemen isn’t exactly the safest place to be in right now, it’s definitely a part of my bucket list. 

9b7be53d-993c-46fe-8bdf-0740fd3ebcfd-2060x1381

Usually we hear about Oman when it comes to tourism in the Arabian Peninsula. It’s more popular than Saudi Arabia and is quickly becoming a famous tourist destination like the United Arab Emirates. So I wondered, what did Yemen look like since we don’t usually see it in the travel media? 

221b69c26002b123566474a006b6a485-old-san-a

I never expected Yemen to look this beautiful. I always thought that the media somehow manages to catch up on every single beautiful location on Earth (like Iceland). Travel media often features Tehran, and they used to feature Damascus as well before the war, but never Sana’a. I don’t know if there’s a political reason behind it or whatever, but I do think it also needs some appreciation because it looks beautiful! I just learned that the old city is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the city itself is one of the oldest in the world, as well as one of the highest capital cities in the world in terms of elevation. 

7d45da25-7c58-4c27-b959-3aa554be0aae-2060x1379

I really do hope that the Middle East (and the rest of the world) will become peaceful again. It’s always been a region that I’ve been interested in going to my whole life, but of course terrorism is always too great of a risk to go there for the sake of travel.Hopefully when there is world peace, the rest of the world will become more accessible for us to explore.

Photos courtesy of:

The Guardian

Lonely Planet

7 comments

Leave a Reply

