Finishing the Primary Series

setu-bandhasana.jpg

I’m beyond elated to say that I am finally at the end of the primary series! When I went to the studio yesterday, my teacher finally told me that I was ready to learn the last three poses: ubhaya padangusthasana, urdhva mukha paschimottanasana, and setu bandhasana. I really can’t believe I’m almost done with the primary series. I mean technically I’m “done”, but I’m not sure if it’s correct to say that I’ve finished it if I haven’t been exactly moved to the secondary series yet.

I don’t really mind ubhaya padangusthasana and urdhva mukha paschimottanasana very much, but it’s really funny how I can’t exactly roll up to the balance point yet from lying down. It took me four tries the first time when doing urdhva mukha paschimottanasana. So far, I did it quite well today, it only took me two tries this time. I don’t really like setu bandhasana though, I always found it rather scary looking. Not because of the contortion, but because of how fragile it looks being supported by your feet and neck only. Anyway my teacher taught me a safer way to do it since I’m still a beginner and I’m not really ready to go full on yet. It’s rather difficult, but not as scary as I thought it would be. I still have to hold the edges of my mat though, I’m not really sure when exactly I’ll be ready to take my hands off the ground, but hopefully I can do that already before the year ends.

Speaking of the primary series, I finally mastered sirsasana! Although I’m still stuck with 10-5-10; I get tired after my 25th breath so I have no choice but to go back down. As usual, garbha pindasana is still a struggle, especially when slipping my left foot in; and my legs always become loose when I start lifting up to kukkutasana

There goes another one of my goals to achieve for the year 2016, to reach the end of the primary series. I do hope I can quickly move on to the secondary series by January, despite the unhealthy food during the Christmas and New Year holidays. 

Photo courtesy of yogaweb.com

 

Leave a Reply

