Providore Restaurant

15205638_377281999274416_1994441799_o.jpg

A few weeks ago, three of my friends and I went to SM Aura and ate in this fairly new restaurant that opened called Providore. It mostly serves international food, but they have a special section in the menu that focuses solely on Filipino food. They also bake their own breads and pastries, although I wasn’t able to try any of them since I was too full after my meal, as well as from sampling the other food my friends ordered. I wasn’t able to take a picture of all of the food though, because I don’t want to be that guy that stops his friends from eating just to take a picture of it; that’s why I only photograph the food the I order, and I’m quick to do it (no more of those Instagrammable “aesthetics” bullsh*t). 

As the starter, we had the Negros Burrata Cheese, which was burrata (obviously) served with tomatoes, basil, extra virgin olive oil, and four toasted slices of their homemade sourdough. Negros is a region somewhere in the Philippines, and although I wasn’t able to ask, I’m assuming that the burrata is made from milk sourced from Negros, based on the name alone. Although I’m not a burrata connoisseur since I’ve only tried very few kinds of burrata, I liked the one they served here in Providore, and so did my friends (who are probably more credible than I am since they are more critical when judging food). The sourdough they had was served toasted and also was very good, although not the best I’ve tried here in Manila.

img_0843

One of my friends also ordered the Providore Salad which was also very delicious and FULL of cheese. I’m so glad they did not scrimp on the cheese since that’s extremely annoying. Two of my other friends ordered the Clam Chowder which was served on a bread bowl and was already heavy enough to be a meal on its own.

I ordered something from their all-day breakfast menu, the Crab & Avocado Egg Toastie, which was avocado toast on their homemade sourdough, topped off with crab meat, tomatoes, cucumber, arugula, and two poached eggs. I’m not the biggest fan of avocados, even though I know it’s really healthy, but I liked this one because of how well the multiple ingredients all complimented one another. It can be quite messy to eat though since everything is on top of one another, but it’s really not a problem because it tastes good anyway. 

img_0841

The friend of mine who ordered the salad had the Winner Winner Chicken Dinner which I wasn’t able to photograph. It consisted of fried chicken, buttered vegetables, gravy, and mashed potatoes. Admittedly, I’m not a big fried chicken fan, but I really loved this one because of how real it tastes. It doesn’t have that weird, chemical-ish aftertaste that’s often found in fast food fried chicken. It also isn’t too salty, which is perfect. The mashed potatoes were so delicious because it literally melted in your mouth and was very creamy without masking the taste potatoes. 

For dessert, we had the Coconut Cream Tres Leches, which was a coconut cake enveloped in coconut cream and topped off with desiccated and fresh coconut meat. It was surprisingly a lot bigger than I thought, which is obviously a good thing. You can tell from the taste alone that the coconut cream wasn’t scrimped on, and wasn’t simply whipped cream with coconut flavouring, which is all too common in cheap restaurants. The taste of the coconut wasn’t too cloying nor was the sweetness overwhelming, everything tasted balanced and perfect. The texture of the cake itself is also very soft and pairs well with the subtle coconut notes in the coconut cream exterior.

img_0842

Another thing to commend the restaurant on is their outstanding service, which is sometimes quite rare to find in Manila. The interior of the restaurant itself isn’t too shabby looking, although it can sometimes get too loud when there are events outside, which was the case when we were there; although I don’t blame the restaurant at all since they can’t do anything about it. The price is just right, not too expensive but it’s not cheap either. I will definitely come back some other time. 

Providore is located in G/F SM Aura, Fort Bonifacio, Taguig. 

Leave a Reply

