Taoist Temple in Valenzuela

img_0414

Last weekend, two of my friends from Manila who are practicing Taoists asked me if I wanted to come along with them to look at one of Metro Manila’s Taoist temples which is hidden in a slum in a city far off in the metro. It’s located in Valenzuela City, which is located in the north most part of the metro. 

I’ve been to Manila’s Chinatown called Binondo (very gritty and dirty, it wasn’t a very pleasant experience being there honestly) but I’ve never actually seen or been to a temple in that area. This was my first time in Valenzuela city. Not really much to see here, it’s just another residential neighbourhood with a few factories (according to my friends).

They invited me because they knew that I love adventure. I love going to these hidden places in far off neighbourhoods that aren’t exactly very popular with tourists. This temple is really difficult to go to, not only due to the distance, but due to the location within the maze-like streets of the slum as well. 

Here are some of the pictures of the temple. I only took a few photographs out of respect. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This temple is quite old, although I forgot to take note of the specific date when it was built. According to my friend, it was said that one of the Taoist gods appeared to a man from Manila in a dream and told him to build a temple at that specific spot in the middle of nowhere. Of course there’s no proof as to whether that story is true or not, but it did gain popularity within the Taoist communities in Manila after it was built. There weren’t a lot of people when we got there, but there usually are during festivals and holidays.

It was an interesting experience seeing this place, although I wouldn’t really recommend others to come here because of the distance, and there’s not much to see in the first place since the temple is really small anyway. It’s just an interesting place for taking unique pictures. 

Leave a Reply

