Din Tai Fung’s Chocolate Xiao Long Bao

IMG_5990.jpg

I’m not exactly a big fan of Chinese food, but I really love xiao long bao, especially those in Din Tai Fung. I’m so glad it finally opened here in Manila, which means I don’t have to go out of the Philippines anymore just to eat there. This isn’t the first time I’ve eaten in Din Tai Fung actually, this is my third; my first being in the original branch in Hong Kong, and the second one in Taipei. When I ate in the new branch in Manila, I decided to try the one of the Philippine exclusive food, the chocolate xiao long bao.

I recently found out that each branch in different countries have their own regional specialties, and the ones in Manila are their Chocolate Xiao Long Bao and the Golden Lava Salted Egg Bun (this is regional?). I’ll try the salted egg bun next time when I have saved up enough money.

This xiao long bao is a dessert actually. I think I have to point that out because most people often think that it’s a main course dish when they hear it at first. It’s a dessert, so obviously it’s sweet, and the wrapping in this xiao long bao is actually different from the traditional ones. The one in this seems to be made of glutinous rice. A lot chewier and thicker than the ones normally used. It makes a sense too, because I think the molten chocolate inside can’t be held by the traditional wrapping. The filling inside is made of molten chocolate, similar to that in a molten chocolate cake.

It tastes really good! Not too sweet, and the wrapping really compliments the flavour of the chocolate. It’s pretty expensive though, PHP 115.00 (EUR 2.15; SEK 20.87; DKK 15.98; CHF 2.34) for 3 tiny pieces. The pieces are really quite small, it could easily fit into your mouth; but I didn’t do that to savour the taste of these tiny, expensive, delicious molten chocolate xiao long bao. It’s really worth trying if you’re in the Manila branch, not overrated in my opinion. It’s really unique and you can’t find it anywhere else.

Din Tai Fung in Manila is located in G/F Mega Fashion Hall, SM Megamall, Ortigas, Mandaluyong City

Leave a Reply

