My 40 Minute Search for Dominique Ansel’s Bakery

When I was in Tokyo last year, I made it a priority to definitely go to Dominique Ansel’s bakery since we missed it in New York. I didn’t want to go there for the cronuts though, because I heard they were pretty overrated. I wanted to go there for the cookie shots! Which, honestly, I discovered in Instagram. Yes, it’s true, before seeing Dominique’s Instagram of the cookie shots, I didn’t know who he was back then, until I researched and found out how famous he actually is.

We had such a hilarious and frustrating time looking for the bakery along Jingumae in Shibuya. For some strange reason, the location given in Google maps was wrong, so we had to look for it on the map based on the website’s address. It was a good thing there is free public wifi in Jingumae, but it was slow so the website took forever to load. Also, it wasn’t exactly easy to find once we got directions because it was hidden in one of the smaller, inner streets and not along the main one. 

Overall, it took us around 40 minutes just to find it. 40 minutes aimlessly going back and forth trying to get wifi signal while searching for the bakery at the same time. 

We finally found it after a long and hard search, and it was totally worth it!  

 Not my photo

Instead of getting the cronuts, we got the cookie shots, the frozen s’more (seen in the first picture), and their special kouign amman, the DKA. I’ve read in many articles that recommend buying the DKA over the cronuts, so we did since we not that into cronuts anyway.   

I didn’t get to take a photo of my DKA so I just got this from the website 

There were also a lot of other delicious looking pastries available, but we didn’t get to buy them anymore lest we spend a lot just for snacks and dessert.

As you can see, a lot of the pastries have already been bought, which is obviously a sign of how good they are. I also found out apparently that the different branches of the bakery (one in New York and a new one in London) offer branch exclusive pastries. For Tokyo, it’s that second one, the Paris Tokyo which according to the website is “A twist on the traditional Paris Brest with matcha ganache and a soft passion fruit curd.” Sounds absolutely delicious! Too bad I didn’t get to try it. 

So how was the food? It was amazing and totally worth the price, as well as the 40 minutes of searching!

The cookie shots were extremely good. Not too sweet, which I love since I hate cloying sweetness. It’s surprisingly easy to eat despite the way it looks. Oh and there is melted chocolate too at the very bottom of the cookie shot! The frozen s’more was also very good, but not exactly my type since I’m not that into marshmallows. It wasn’t too sweet either, which again is a big plus, especially since s’mores are typically sweet. The DKA was very good as well! I haven’t really tried a lot of kouign ammans actually, just the DKA and the one in Eric Kayser. Personally, I prefer the one here since it’s richer and tastier, but the one in Eric Kayser seems crunchier though.  

So dear readers, please remember not to miss out on  Dominique Ansel Bakery if you’re in any of the three cities. You won’t regret it! Just don’t go early in the morning when people are queuing for the cronuts. Just skip the cronuts altogether. They have so much other things to offer.

Dominique Ansel Bakery is located in 5-7-14, Jingumae, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo 150-0001

Photos courtesy of Dominique Ansel Bakery

Leave a Reply

